:::by benne:::

I have many jobs so I guess I have many workplaces. Funnily enough, they all have the same issues � relationships with co-workers (messy), relationships with your boss(es), cutting the mustard and being recognised for the work you do.

One of my day jobs is as a marketing manager for a textile company. Whilst this means I get to play with some exquisite fabrics, it also means I live in the bitchy world of fashion. Unfunnily enough, most of the bitchiness seems to come from those I work with, bitching about how bitchy the rest of the industry is. Go figure.

Another day job is doing freelance publicity and promotions for performers. This is cool as I basically make my own hours and get to hang with some of the most fun people on the planet. The uncool part is the money, which is not very much and not very regular. But there�s lots of love and gratitude�

Then I make clothes for people, I host a trivia night, I sing with a jazz band, I do cabaret and stand-up comedy�

My life is a workplace. I am always working. Even when I sit down to �veg out� in front pf the tele I am working, thinking, assessing, discriminating, judging, and controlling (I love the remote!). I work on my reklationship. I work on my spirituality. I work at losing weight and becoming more fit. I work at not blurting out the wrong thing at the wrong time (I can be so Anya).

So it is difficult to define just how life in the workplace is for me, because my work differs so much and encompasses so many aspects of myself. But I must like it because I keep doing it. And its not the money, it�s the definition of self. People are always telling me "wow! You have done so much stuff in your life", and indeed it sounds unbelievable when I recount all the different experiences I have had. But that�s how it is when work is your life � suddenly you have a scrapbook that looks awfully full.

<< 2002-05-04 @ 6:14 p.m. >>

| virgin | slut | about | bitch | bitch more | brains |
| call us | girls' night out | dressed us up |
| man in our lives |

receive an e-mail when femmeproject is updated:

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com