:::by aha:::

What would be my surprise! Well, today I sit here trying to remember what I ate. I remember I bought chai in the coffeeshop this morning before the exam. After the exam, I spent about two hours talking nonstop with people about math courses and the war in Iraq. After that I had a class in which I realized: I�m feeling dizzy. Oh, I know! I have not eaten today. Oops. So, right after international relations lecture- we the writers of term papers (only two) accompanied the professor to her office to talk about debacles and health problems.

But, to my utter surprise, my health problem was NOTHING compared to the one that my colleague had to talk about. I was so humbled, I just shut up after that and counted my blessings.

My general opinion about food is that it�s GREAT, I love it! I love to eat. I just recovered from a period in which I was abstaining from a lot of foods for ethical reasons, but since I realized I was not rich enough to eat Punjabi food every day, I have taken to eating new things like pizza and, oh my, here we go with the bomb: chicken tenders with honey dijon sauce. Sorry, vegetarians.

I was anemic before. I�m too busy to study, so I decided that for a while, until I�m not dizzy I will have to get some of the necessary ingredients of life from chicken and fish. I thank these animals for their support. I don�t feel guilty about it. After what I went through?

In the Baghavad-Gita, there�s a hidden concept that people like me often cite: one must do that which is with the scene. You can�t flow against the tide. Maybe by accepting the society I live in, I will move on to something that satisfies me more.

I really like this music group of Japanese girls gone American. They named themselves Cibo Matto. They often include French expressions in their album: Viva la woman!. I remember one Italian expression from this album, too. According to the story, the band�s name came from the Italian film Sesso Matto, or Sex Madness. Cibo means food in Italian.

Cibo Matto sing quite an interesting song that makes my mouth water: �White Pepper Ice Cream [Sweet or Spicy?; �a m�est �gal, it�s all the same to me]� Daydreaming about this composition over the last couple of years has made eating white pepper ice cream one of the futuristic goals of my life. Just like the Futuristic painters, I long to stand in a gray area and eat that, to answer her prompt: Is it sweet, or is it spicy? Just as in life, we have to taste the menu before applauding or jeering.

They also take Sugar Water Showers and talk about Le Pain Perdu, which is a pun on words, as �pain� means �bread� in French and �perdu� means lost. So, in a way, the story about the bread is also a song about losing a lover that caused pain. At least to me. And I would say, that that is a great thing.

In choosing to write about food and love, they combine elements to expose one of the great metaphors of sweet life. I love food. I love gulab jamun, which is an Indian desert. It is so creamy, even though you cannot see any cream! So full of a nectar, a spice, a syrup. It�s delicious. They say eating sweet things gives you an edge in becoming Kappa in the ayurvedic system of health, at least in the �health and wholeness� crowd, a market into which I do not always buy. I�m not sold on that, but I just think it�s interesting that Deepak Chopra says in his insomnia book, �I can drink a cup of coffee and it has no effect on me.� I jump at the thought of coffee; why do you think I drink chai?

This is another reason I�ve returned to Cajoun cuisine.

I love food, its smells. Carmen Mart�n Gaite describes kitchens as the centers of homes in her half-fiction, half-exploration of fantasy, memory, Spain under Franco, and fantastic literature: The Backroom. When I was a child, there seemed to be something special vibrating from the kitchen. It was the decorations: a lamp with drawn strawberries, the tile floors, and the great food. Oh! Don�t we just live for food? And food makes us live. Great stuff. Mmmmm. I love food. This entry is making me hungry.

What should I eat? Hmmm, food is great. We needn�t have hang-ups about it. If past socities lived with it, so can we. What�s wrong with eating? Nothing. Let�s eat.

<< 2003-10-06 @ 6:29 p.m. >>

| virgin | slut | about | bitch | bitch more | brains |
| call us | girls' night out | dressed us up |
| man in our lives |

receive an e-mail when femmeproject is updated:

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com