:::by jill:::

breathe.

that�s the most important word in my life.

just �breathe.�

not in the yoga, anger-management, or from-your-diaphragm-singing-lessons sense. i tell myself to breathe so i never ignore the air. it�s easy to take the atmospheric for granted, to ignore the surrounding details that make my life what it is. when i stop and think �breathe�, the feeling of my lungs expanding and filling with air, spreading my ribs becomes a comfort, a cool drink of water. i don�t let myself forget how good breathing is.

breathe. i breathe in my surroundings, my atmosphere; the light on the river, the smell of coffee every morning, that jazz cd that i listen to in my car, my friend ali�s arm around my shoulder. it�s all incidental, perfectly consistent and natural and nearly reflexive, until i remember to tell myself to breathe it in, to savor the simple quiet beauties and comforts of every single moment that otherwise might escape me like a second�s breath.

i won�t let myself forget the sweetness of the air, even if i can�t see it.

even if i don�t know what it�s like to be without it.

<< 2002-04-05 @ 10:56 a.m. >>

| virgin | slut | about | bitch | bitch more | brains |
| call us | girls' night out | dressed us up |
| man in our lives |

receive an e-mail when femmeproject is updated:

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com