:::by amanda:::

Jill asked us to write about femininity for our first femmeproject assignment. Funny; if she'd asked us to write about "being a woman" or "womanhood," this entry would have been a piece of cake. But femininity? "What are little girls made of? Sugar and spice and everything nice, that's what little girls are made of." Pink ribbons and lace and perfume. Yet there's a word that should be its sister--"feminist"--but the two are usually considered to be total opposites.

I seldom wear makeup. I don't wear dresses or skirts too terribly often.

I hang around with a bunch of guys and am considered to be "one of the guys"--not just the girlfriend who was grandfathered in to "the group" through obligation. I define myself through my love of writing and reading, my job at the library (teaching children the love of reading), my relationship (lucky in love, yet I don't define myself by my relationship with my boyfriend), my love of music, etc.

But there's part of me that picks up fashion magazines and reads them.

So for a half hour, I'm really convinced that this new mascara might be what I need to make me happy. Or I think, "Maybe I need to spend more

time on my hair in the morning." I usually come away unhappy, dissatisfied with my appearance, sure I appear like a hopeless fat cow to everyone. But an hour later I'm back to my normal self.

But when next month's issue comes out, I know I'll pick it up and read it.

<< 2002-03-21 @ 11:09 a.m. >>

| virgin | slut | about | bitch | bitch more | brains |
| call us | girls' night out | dressed us up |
| man in our lives |

receive an e-mail when femmeproject is updated:

email:
Powered by NotifyList.com